A Blog of Very Little Brain

'What does Crustimoney Proseedcake mean?' said Pooh. 'For I am a Bear of Very Little Brain, and long words Bother me.'

Strawberry Perl forever

with one comment

…maybe not “forever”, though, but it did (Eventually) did good.

I moved the installation to “c:\strawberry” as dictated by the manpage, and made sure to set the path variables to the correct places. (Also, I’ve added a path variable to MinGW’s bin folder, just to be on the safe side). Then, I tried installing the modules that were acting up originally, which was mostly successful, apart from Tk. Installing it turned out to be a bit of an issue.

A quick search later, and I got some general complains, and even more general solutions, until I hit pay dirt (http://rt.cpan.org/Public/Bug/Display.html?id=13923):

I built Tk via the strawberry perl distribution today. I also had the
“missing file”. The file was not missing, but rather there appears to
be a relative path in Xlib.h at line 1206

#include "../pTk/tkIntXlibDecls.h"

but xlib.h is at C:\Tk-804.027\pTk\mTk\xlib\X11
and there is not pTk dir up one directory.
if you create a pTk dir at C:\Tk-804.027\pTk\mTk\xlib\pTk
and put tkIntXlibDecls.h and lang.h there the build will complete just
fine.

Really weird stuff, but it actually worked. After performing the movement, and re-running Makefile.PL, I managed to build, test, and install Tk, which means I now have, hopefully, all I need.

Written by Erez

Monday, August 11, 2008 at 16:26

Posted in Programming

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hello, i’ve foound this, and it made it possible to install the perl tk on my computer with strawberry perl:

    dear god.. I managed to make it work…

    In case anyone ever reads this post, ever.. this is how I did it..

    in make case..
    I downloaded Tk module from cpan.
    I extracted it.
    I moved the folder which was named something like: tk8.01912 to C:\strawberry\perl\lib\
    I opened cmd , I typed cd C:\strawberry\perl\lib\ pressed enter.
    than I typed : perl makefile.pl and pressed enter.. waited to load
    than I type dmake afterwards dmake test and dmake install.

    Felipe

    Tuesday, August 31, 2010 at 23:46


Leave a comment